You are not logged in [Register] [Login] [Help/FAQ] [Search] [Index]

Topic aaahhh frustration!!! Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By tattooedbunny On 04/06/04  

i need to let out a little frustration. i want to be a tattoo artist sooooooooooooooo bad and my well meaning family bought me a tattoo set up for x mas but alas i can't bring myself to use it because i don't know what the hell i am doing! i want an apprenticeship so bad but sadly where i live the chances are next to nothing and there is no chance of relocating at this point in my life because i have to work to support my son and my husband has a great job here :( i want to do this so bad i can taste it and i can draw flash really well(i am not trying to brag) it would make me so happy to be able to do this for a living, but the dream seems so far out of my reach here in this little town in florida called port charlotte!!!!!!

By SuzyCreamcheese On 04/06/04  

There's a term for self-taught tattoo "artists" who buy these starter kits: scratchers. Don't be one.

Keep drawing. Draw a lot. Put together a portfolio and shop it around. Hang around the shops in your area. Get to know the artists. Build trust. Give them good reason to take you on.

There is no easy "in" to any career in the arts. You just have to work hard and keep plugging away. Sorry.

By MlleEmily On 04/06/04