You are not logged in [Register] [Login] [Help/FAQ] [Search] [Index]

Topic artsy dad- in BUST! ATLANTAshow tonight Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By anniebeegoode On 03/01/04  

Last night I was reading the Bust book reviews and was startled to see my dad's self-taught art standing out on page 100. My gay dad is in Bust! (Something I never thought I'd say...)

Of course, I must mention Hollis, his fabulous best friend who has been writing a hilarious colummn for creative loafing in Atlanta for years now. She's the real star. He's one of the main "characters" in her writing. His art is on the cover of her book "Bleachy-Haired Honkey Bitch" which was reviewed by Bust. She was even reviewed in Entertainment Weekly this week, but Bust is so much more exciting.

Anyway, you can check out the book on amazon.com
>http://images.amazon.com/images/P/006056198X.01.LZZZZZZZ.jpg

This cover doesn't really due justice to his true art...but his website isn't up yet. He does a lot of mixed media work that questions traditional christian beliefs. My sweetie is working on the website for him...

If you are in Atlanta, there's a book-signing at Paris on Ponce Thursday night.

And Dad (Grant) is having an art opening in early April.

I'm just exploding with excitement for both Hollis and Dad!

By favorgrl On 03/01/04  

Wow, congrats to your Dad. I'll have to go check out the new issue of Bust now.

favorgrl

By sharem On 03/01/04  

good for him
i like the lighter frame?.?.?

By researchasaurus On 03/01/04  

Wow I wish I had a cool arty dad.

I think my dad would pass out if he read half of the articles in your average Bust issue!

Congratulations to your dad! The book looks great!

thanks all for being excited with me.

sharem, about the lighters: he incorporates a lot of "crack lighters" in his work. he used to live in this low income neighborhood in a home that was previously a crack house that he bought for $8000 (hollis writes about it in the book).