Looking for Glitter Boards? They now live on Supernaturale!

You are not logged in [Register] [Login] [Help/FAQ] [Search] [Index]

Topic PC Laptop - which to buy? Go to previous topic Go to next topic Go to higher level

By graphicsgirl On 02/20/04  

Hi all,

I'm looking into getting a PC laptop for work, and I'm hoping for some advice on which brand to buy.

I'm a web designer so I know my way around a computer pretty well, but I haven't picked out my own machine in years and am overwhelmed with the options.

I have a pretty good idea what type of machine I want - something fast and wireless with a decent screen size and a tolerable battery life. It's gotta be powerful enough to handle graphics programs without a lot of lag time. Right now I think I'm leaning towards a ThinkPad or Vaio, but even then I'm not sure which model - I don't want my boss to fall over when he sees the pricetag, but I don't want something that's going to be outdated in a month.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated! I would like to stick with PC (even though Macs are beautiful creatures - why can't any pc manufacturer make something purdy like the i-book?) because over 94% of our users view our sites on a PC and I will be using the laptop for testing purposes as well.

~gg

By heathertea On 02/20/04  

Toshiba.
They are not too expensive, they are definitely the cheapest with the best options available. They are sturdy and lighter than a lot of other similar products. Toshiba was reccomended to me over and over again when I was looking for a laptop last October. I bought one and I am TOTALLY satisfied with it. I love it!

By invisilurker On 02/20/04  

Dells are good..just do not get a deskstar or "deathstar" as people in the computer industry love to call them, hard drive. Hitatchi bought IBM, and made those things. They are known for dying after you have owned the thing for like, three months. Which is a horribly short amount of time for a hard drive to last.